Tags

, , , ,

American Stroke AssociationThere is starting to be a rhythm to my Saturdays. Up at 5:00 – with surprisingly little effort, no matter how hard it is to get out of bed during the week – and out the door by 6:30. We alternate, loosely, between Manhattan Beach and Santa Monica, so at least every few trainings, my commute cuts in half. We’ve added electrolytes by now, and munchies. I start with raisins & peanuts, but switch to peanut butter crackers, since peanuts take too long to digest. Funny, how we learn in cycles. Six miles scared me into good stretching, and eight miles was easy. Too easy, and I didn’t stretch quite enough this week. The last two miles challenge me.

“Keep moving,” drills the woman walking in front of us. “If I can do it, you can do it.”  She is recovering from two strokes, one in October and another in November. I have nothing to complain about.

Warning Signs of Stroke

Sudden numbness/weakness of the face, arm or leg, especially on one side.
Sudden confusion, trouble speaking or understanding.
Sudden trouble seeing in one or both eyes.
Sudden trouble walking, dizziness, loss of balance or coordination
Sudden severe headache with no known cause.

Not all these warning signs occur in every stroke. If some start to occur, don’t wait. Get help immediately! Stroke is a medical emergency – call 911!

tk

Read More

In 2005, I stunned myself by signing up to walk the San Diego Rock ‘n Roll Marathon on behalf of the American Stroke Association. This post is one of a series of reflections and Training Tales from that time. The whole series begins here.

