Tags

, ,

5:30 a.m. This is the first day of real training. We are meeting in Redondo Beach at 7 a.m. I have to get up at 5:30 to dress, eat breakfast, and make it there on time. It is so dark when I wake up. And it might rain. I am completely out of my mind.

The phone rings. My friend Danelia can’t sleep.

“I’m out of my mind!” I tell her.

“You’re not the only one doing this,” she reminds me.

“Just because you have company doesn’t mean you’re not crazy!”

Marathon Trivia
Webster’s Dictionary defines a marathon as a cross-country foot race of 26.2 miles, named to commemorate the messenger who ran to Athens to announce the Greek victory at Marathon in 490 B.C.

READ MORE

In 2005, I stunned myself by signing up to walk the San Diego Rock ‘n Roll Marathon on behalf of the American Stroke Association. This post is one of a series of reflections and Training Tales from that time. The whole series begins here.